Splashing about aimlessly in the pool

I managed to make it to the pool this morning, having not been detained by grocery deliveries and small children playing up. Not sure the McDonald’s breakfast helped but sometimes you have to work with what you’ve got.

Swam a 1500 session straight off (due to time constraints), trying to recover my stroke after two OWS events, inn the last few weeks. I really noticed the difference when swimming in a pool as opposed to open water today, not as I could fully move my arms, but as I was much less buoyant. It really did feel like I was using too much energy just trying to stay afloat!

Thinking about the swim it did the 1500m in 29.12 today, which is slower than my OWS times over the same distance. Looking at the break down:

0-500 9.51
500-1000 9.09
1000-1500 10.12

It did take me a little while to get into my stroke today so I’m not surprised that my second 500 was faster than my 1st, as during he middle third I had gotten my stroke working nicely, improving on my reach and follow through. The final 500 was quite poor, I think partly as by this point I was feeling the effects of two Egg McMuffins and coffee. I also think, like with my biking I let myself down mentally here, not really keeping my mind focused on what I was doing. I always count my breaking and strokes but I think I still need to keep and eye on my stroke rate and leg kicks. his may be why I have slightly better swim times when I do OWS events as the argie-bargie in the swim keeps your mind focused on the fact that you are in a race.

Hope to get back to the pool over the weekend when I aim to do some speed work (whilst paying attention to keeping focused), that should make the arms hurt and the lungs burn!